H for hold.

In response to the a to z challenge

I could grasp you, tightly in my hands, refuse to let you go, but deep inside I can feel you gone. The tighter I grasp, the more you slip
Everything is salt and sand.

My hand stays still, palm upward, imagining the feel of your fingers on it,
Waiting for your touch, the grasp of those firm digits interlocking with mine. Yet it’s just a dream, the moment passes,
Everything is salt and sand.

I think of the way your gaze bores into mine,
Holding me still, those eyes a violent shade
Of blue, specks of sorrow lighting it up.
For a moment I am arrested, elevated above myself
Floating in the intensity of your eyes on me
But then you blink, it breaks
Everything is salt and sand.

The whine in your voice, stubborn under the drawl of a joke, “stay.”
The words pull me towards you, inexorbitant tugs that seem to bind me into your arms
The guilt rushes into my soul, and I wrench free
Everything is salt and sand.

Fire, on my skin, in my hair, your mouth crude, ruthless as is takes and takes,
I’m crumbling into you, a sculpture turning into clay, your breath in my ear,
My body spent, my mind still yearning
I should go, but you have an iron will.
Yet your heart is fragile,
At the door, I look at you curled up, broken
The chains floating in the air
Everything is salt and sand.

Leave a Reply

