y for yesterday

In response to the a to z challenge

This is a compilation of lines from my favourite songs back when I had first discovered music. I had an ipod shuffle, and it did not have a screen. Over time, I learnt to detect the songs from their first beat, and navigate my world with two simple buttons.

Now I have a smart phone, and a hundred different genres, these tracks are almost forgotten. To be honest, my first boyfriend had been a guitarist and made me stop listening to these tracks because it wasn’t ‘real music’. From that day onwards I had almost been ashamed of these memories.

However, these have all been a part of me, forgotten parts of me, and have moulded me into who I am now. While my taste in music has changed, these lines mean exactly what they had back when I was twelve. It seems fitting, that I look back just before the end of the challenge; besides, I’m tired of my own words.

Everything I know, and anywhere I go
It gets hard but it won’t take away my love
And when the last one falls
When it’s all said and done
It gets hard but it wont take away my love.

I’m here without you baby, but you’re on my lonely mind,

I think about you baby, and I dream about you all the time.

here without you, 3 doors down

it’s really good to hear your voice saying my name
It sounds so sweet
Coming from the lips of an angel
Hearing those words it makes me weak

Laying down, I never wanna say goodbye
But girl you make it hard to be faithful
With the lips of an angel

Lips of an angel, Hinder

Another shot of whiskey, can’t stop looking at the door.
Wishing you’d come sweeping in the way you did before.

And I wonder if I ever cross your mind?
For me it happens all the time.


It’s a quarter after one, I’m a little drunk and I need you now.
Said I wouldn’t call but I’ve lost all control and I need you now.
And I don’t know how I can do without.
I just need you now.

Guess I’d rather hurt than feel nothing at all.

Need you now, Lady Antebellum

When you cried I’d wipe away all of your tears
When you’d scream I’d fight away all of your fears
And I held your hand through all of these years
But you still have all of me

I’ve tried so hard to tell myself that you’re gone
But though you’re still with me
I’ve been alone all along

My immortal, evanescence

I’m not a perfect person
I never meant to do those things to you
And so I have to say before I go
That I just want you to know

I’ve found a reason for me
To change who I used to be
A reason to start over new
and the reason is you

I’ve found a reason to show
A side of me you didn’t know
A reason for all that I do
And the reason is you.

Reason, hoobastank

I’m never gonna be good enough for you
I can’t stand another fight
And nothing’s alright

‘Cause we lost it all
Nothing lasts forever
I’m sorry I can’t be perfect
Now it’s just too late and
We can’t go back
I’m sorryI can’t be perfect

Nothing’s gonna change the things that you said
Nothing’s gonna make this right again.

perfect, simple plan


Here I am, lost in the ashes of time, but who wants tomorrow?
In between the longing to hold you again
I’m caught in your shadow, I’m losing control
My mind drifts away, we only have today

Touch me and I will follow in your afterglow
Heal me from all this sorrow
As I let you go I will find my way
I will sacrifice ’til the blinding day when I see your eyes
Now I’m living in your afterglow

afterglow, INXS

So I stumble there, along the railings and the fences
I know if we’re face to face then she’ll come to her senses
Every drunk step I take leads me to her door
If she sees how much I’m hurting, she’ll take me back for sure

And I know that I’m drunk but I’ll say the words
And she’ll listen this time even though they’re slurred
So I, dialed her number and confessed to her
I’m still in love but all I heard
Was nothing.

sometimes love’s intoxicating
you’re coming down, your hands are shaking
When you realize there’s no one waiting.

nothing, the script

Don’t be afraid
I’ve taken my beating
I’ve shared what I’ve made
I’m strong on the surface
Not all the way through
I’ve never been perfect
But neither have you

So if you’re asking me I want you to know:
When my time comes
Forget the wrong that I’ve done
Help me leave behind some
Reasons to be missed
Don’t resent me
And when you’re feeling empty
Keep me in your memory
Leave out all the rest
Leave out all the rest.

Forgetting all the hurt inside
You’ve learned to hide so well
Pretending someone else can come
And save me from myself
I can’t be who you are.

leave out all the rest, Linkin Park

So we watch the receding horizon
‘Til we develop a thousand yard stare
And with our old tape recorders we pretend to cross borders
And dream that we’re breathing free air

But we can only imagine that landscape
Gaze at pictures now faded with age
The greatest country on earth was our prison since birth
Its shores an invulnerable cage

There’s a chain from your hand to mine
And I can’t let go of it, I can’t let go of it
We were saved from the front lines
Got nothing to show for it.

thousand yard stare, no really.

Leave a Reply

