From Eden

Babe, there’s something tragic about you

In the tilt of your head, in the shrug of your shoulders, in the way your finger traces my collarbone. Yet,

Something so magic about you

In the hold of your gaze, in the perfect fit of your lips on mind. We are raw, so raw against each other that we hurt. We are downscaling, and grasping at reality, steady on the soil of tangible concepts while swaying from a night of sailing in a sea.

Don’t you agree?

Babe, there’s something lonesome about you

In the toe whose pain withered, in the simplicity of your arguments and foreign lovers. We are textbook mistakes, yet there is

Something so wholesome about you

For once in my life I have a craving for reality, I need your skin against my mind and nothing can replace the desire. Would you just,

Get closer to me

No tired sighs, no rolling eyes, no irony

Irrespective of how long my speeches are, your steadiness is unsettling, the deeply rooted gentleman that covers your face in a mask, and in their gentleness, there are

No ‘who cares’, no vacant stares, no time for me

You’re so clear that when I stand still, my heart stills too, I can’t think you out of thin air, you already exist,

Honey, you’re familiar like my mirror years ago

I don’t remember much but we are trying to out do each other in apathy, in breaking in eggshell cracks. We are plunging because we know how this ends,

Idealism sits in prison,

And as I coax you out of your shell, we have no regrets, even if

chivalry fell on its sword

I hold you strongly, fascinating you with the contours I am so familiar with amusing others with, prudence hold my tongue as your fingers trace up my back, my mind blank as I absorb every moment of sin, we are not wrong,

Innocence died screaming, honey, ask me I should know

So here I am, holding onto your promises like salt and sand that will slip through my fingers into a black hole and yet,

I slithered here from Eden just to sit outside your door

Babe, there’s something wretched about this

The wrong stands out in so many shades, begging to be noticed till you don’t care about their shades anymore, this night is ours and there is

Something so precious about this about how you hold yourself against me, the longing inside us, in mine for reality, in yours for make belief.

There is so much hope in our whispers, our value stretches across phone lines and into tomorrow,

Where to begin?

Babe, there’s something broken about this

I think of my voice softening, gentle and faltering as I guide you through me, and you guide me through you, and then when you make me laugh, my pits are falling

But I might be hoping about this.

Oh, what a sin,

To hope, to think there can be, for a few drunken hours a tomorrow without regrets and repercussions. My feet leaden with the thought of tomorrow.

To the strand a picnic plan for you and me

Just your eyes meeting mine, your fingers in my hair, you seem unperturbed by how you handle someone’s property, when I told you I was taken, the only change was,

A rope in hand for your other man to hang from a tree

I lay in bed, afraid to go back, stranded by your voice and the inevitability of sobriety, I want to delay it to a blurred forever where my conscience does not want an answer.

Honey, you’re familiar like my mirror years ago

When I stood and took promises from a similar man, a love that ached inside me in mind it’s unbloomed beauty, yet

Idealism sits in prison,

I think of your hesitation, your apologies and the promise of you inside me, of my voice rising in muted glee, repressed in my own desires I conclude, chivalry fell on its sword.

Innocence died screaming, with your instructions,. Explicit and beautiful the way it touched me and made me ache. I am so much all at once, Innocence has evolved around us, honey, ask me I should know

So here I am, stuck in you irrespective of the magnitude of our mistakes, entwined in the mistakes we are, kissing your mouth with a hunger that belies the secret,

I slithered here from Eden just to sit outside your door.

One thought on “From Eden

Leave a Reply

