The last song of the wisps.

Let me sleep

I’m tired of my grief,

I’d like you to 

Love me, love me, love me. 

Therein I wish for sleep
Tired, weary of the weight in my chest
This is the last poem I address to you as my lover
Of a fairytale story.

I won’t be afraid no more, even when my heart threatens to burst out of my chest
But I digress
I cannot sleep, swallowed by the empty restlessness
Yet I confessed,
Made strange circles in the dark with my lit cigarette,
Prayed?
No, there isn’t hope involved, more of an elegy to a lost cause,
I wrote to you in discomfort,
In despair.

I will write no more, your name has only slipped from my lips in
Altarless prayers,
I announce wearily that God is dead

For better or for worse, in sickness and in health,
I part from you,
Or my lips part in a muted scream
Of agony and shame

Oh what unimagined disgrace I have wrought upon my own self.
I am no cheat and my irreverence towards the rules I had made in stone are slowly but surely fading
This is my last prayer in anonymity,
The feebly disguised begging of sympathy I am soon
To convert into what I had set out to be,
Concrete, cold.

Once, I met brightness in the form of hope and that prayer has left my lips atlast,
No regret shall I feel, no anger depose the throne I’ve set you on,
But till time memorial you shall always be
The only one I dared to uplift to an extent from where you could hurt me.

Farewell, the feelings childish and insecure,
I bid goodbye to my love for innocence and sad, broken hearted poetry
In darkness I live, and your light was too strong for me
Farewell
Fancy cannot cheat so well
As she is famed to do, deceiving elf

One thought on “The last song of the wisps.

Leave a Reply

